Thanks for all who came out to our celebration of the 2017 DanceCrushes on January 6! Be sure to stay tuned for articles throughout the year on all these fantastic artists.

The 2017 DanceCrushes are:

Daniel Costa  for performance and community presence
The beginnings of an emergent truth about whipped cream (Lauren Linder) for thoughtful use of props (Read DanceCrush Feature)
The Purple Lemonade Collective for their fierce performances all over the city
The SOLO(s) Project (Mary Sheldon Scott) for choreography and performance
Nia-Amina Minor for her performance in Spectrum Dance Theatre’s SHOT
Theory 11: Study Two (Marlo Ariz) for performance and choreography (Read DanceCrush Feature)
one great, bright, brittle alltogetherness (Cherdonna) for ambitious vision and outstanding production
Isla (Cameo Lethem) for choreography and performance (Read DanceCrush Feature)
And our Reader’s Choice Award:
Nico Tower  for being a multi-disciplinary Seattle dance super-hero (Read DanceCrush Feature)

Nico Tower receives her DanceCrush award. Photo by Brian Aher.

About DanceCrush

DanceCrush is SeattleDance’s program designed to recognize and support achievements in local dance. Started in 2016, SeattleDances annually honors dancers, choreographers, and productions we have a total crush on. The aim of DanceCrush is not to identify an objective “best,” but rather to recognize local artists making thoughtful, ambitious work. It is our hope that these recognitions will help promote individual artists and create prestige for the dance community as a whole among other arts genres. Because SeattleDances aims to empower community voices, one DanceCrush is the Reader’s Choice Award, picked from nominations submitted by the Seattle dance community and viewers.

But aside from our affections, what will recipients of a DanceCrush receive? Each artist will be honored at the DanceCrush Celebration, receive an honorarium, and be featured in an article on published throughout the year on the SeattleDances site – an effort to sustain dialogue and publicity surrounding their work.

Every major collaborator to a DanceCrush piece is a DanceCrush recipient!
Original cast and contributors are:

Choreography: Cameo Lethem
Dancers: Chloe Albin, Emily Durand, Alicia Pugh, Hayley Shannon, Madison Haines
Music: Violin Phase by Steve Reich
Originally performed at the NWNW Festival at On the Boards

Nia-Amina Minor’s performance in SHOT
SHOT was part of Spectrum Dance Theatre’s 16/17 Season
Directed by Donald Byrd
Performed at Seattle Rep’s Leo K Theatre

Theory 11: Studio Two
Choreographer: Marlo Ariz
MarloArizDanceProject: Danica Bito, Alex Goldstein, Levi Hawkins, Margaret Johnson, Amy J Lambert, Phenix Laughlin, Anne Motl, Alicia Mullikin, Karen O’Branovich, Virsavia Rudenko
Light Designer: Meg Fox
Set Designer: Heather Coyle
Performed at Seattle International Dance Festival 2017

The Beginnings of an Emergent Truth About Whipped Cream
Choreography: Lauren Linder in collaboration with the dancers
Dancers: Adriana Hernández, Tess Keesling, Alexandra Beatty Spencer
Music: Animal Collective arranged by Lauren Linder
Originally commissioned by Hailey Burt and Siena Dumas of Inlay Dance

The Solo(s) Project
Choreographer: Mary Sheldon Scott
Composer: Jarrad Powell
Visual Design: Corrie Befort
Lighting Design: Lynne Ellis
Technical Director: Becca Blackwell
Technical Intern: Cameo Lethem
Performers: Corrie Befort, Jade Solomon Curtis, Alice Gosti, Mark
Haim, Jim Kent, Sean O’Bryan, Linsyanne Owen
Commissioned by Velocity’s Made in Seattle program

Purple Lemonade Collective
Co-Artistic Director /Lead Choreographer: Ron “Gatsby” Smith
Co-Artistic Director/ Community Engagement: Kristen Puckhaber
Choreographers:  Nikiya Dunmore, Will Wiersma, Bianca Kapeliela, Braidon Hobzek, Jaret Hughes, Zsa Mae
Media Team: Ryan Kam, T Provo
Performers: Kianna Lewis, Emma Alexander, Sarah Stanger, Marcus Fontenot
Admin Coordinator: Sam Burke

one great, bright, brittle alltogetherness
Creation: Jody Kuehner/Cherdonna
Major Contributors include:
Danial Hellman
Sari Breznau
Jessica Trundy
Evan Anderson

2016 DanceCrush Celebration. Photo by Warren Woo.

2016 DanceCrushes were:

Randy Ford for powerful performance (Read DanceCrush Feature)
Palms for incredible design (Read DanceCrush Feature)
A Glimmer of Light or Skin or Hope for outstanding overall production (Read DanceCrush Feature)
This and This Too for performance and choreography (Read DanceCrush Feature)
Cold Side (of the Pillow)  for performance and choreography (Read DanceCrush Feature)
Anatomy of an Accident for potent melding of theatre and dance (Read DanceCrush Feature)
an attic an exit for performance and choreography (Read DanceCrush Feature)
Black Like Me for performance and choreography (Read DanceCrush Feature)
And our Reader’s Choice Award:
What’s Poppin’ Ladiez? for trail-blazing community organizing (Read DanceCrush Feature)

The Palms team poses for a photo at the 2016 DanceCrush Celebration. Photo by Warren Woo.